The Trial

We need to talk about the trial. It sucked on Horizon 4 and its the same on Horizon 5. The Unbeatable AI isn’t even the issue here, it’s a problem with poor teammates who cant actually race so they just ride walls and push their own team off the road usually causing a pileup. It’s extremely frustrating trying to win the event in these conditions. I don’t know what the fix for this should be but something needs to be done.

Unfortunately, with the broken AI, players have to ride the walls and ram AI cars to have any hope of winning Trial events in unbeatable (impossible) mode.

I’m no expert at the game. I race in Automatic, for example. But I was able to win some the races over the 4 or so Trials I did. Sometimes it was a lost cause and one or two would just zip ahead. But a number of times I was able to pass the leading AI on the last lap. It’s definitely not impossible if I can do it.

4 Likes

There’s crazy randomness to it. One time through the Trial, I can easily win races. Next time through, using the same car and tune, I’ll be the fastest human player the entire time and the AI smokes me by 5 to 10 seconds.

1 Like

TBF both FH5 Trials wasn’t very… good for new players.
Last week CC where without offroad race tires there was no grip. Now we have modern sports cars(?) A class where only stock A class is BMW i8. Although even stock i8 wasn’t bad.

If you have a problem with teammates ask in “seasonal topic” for help.

1 Like

You don’t have to run the trial with the BMW i8. Any modern supercar you can get into A class will work. I’ve been using the Lexus LFA. I’ve seen somebody else using a Porsche.

Yeah, the i8 is terrible. I took the Scud (Ferrari Scuderia) and used some tuning magic to bring it from S1 to A. It absolutely dominated the i8. Even with teammates trying to wall ride off me it was easy to win.

My advice to everyone is to do this with a friend. It’s one less person trying to use you as a brake/wall.