Need basic help on how multiplayer works

Hey I’m new to this kind of game, I have played an hour or so and went to a race, got a basic introduction to making ‘blueprints’ for a race and made a blueprint, 1 person joined the race with me and we raced. After this I went to the next race and tried multiplayer again but it just runs out of time and kicks me out for not enough players every time.

I’m a little confused how multiplayer works in the game, for example how would I join a race with somebody else either on their ‘blueprint’ or even just a standard race? Also how do people join my races? Do they have to just happen to turn up at the same location in the game as me at the exact 40 second interval I want to race at or is there some menu that shows a list of all the people wanting to race where you can easily join or invite? I can see a lot of these blueprints that other people have made but again there is nobody participating in these it seems.
The game can’t honestly expect me to wait at a location for ages until somebody else just happens to want to race me can it? That seems kind of broken.

Maybe I have it all wrong, Am I just very early in the game and it opens up and is a lot easier to find opponents later on? Am I approaching it the wrong way completely? Should I be playing solo and then some end game opens up where people are all racing each other or is the multiplayer just a bit dead (I can’t see that happening so close to release of a pretty big title)?

To cut it all short, I don;t care if I am joining other peoples races they have set up or them joining events I create, I just want to do some multiplayer racing. So early in the game with it throwing new mechanics at me every few minutes I’ve got quite confused by it all and would love a bit of help.

1 Like

First of all you need to be online to play with others. When online, you can choose between Solo,Co-op and PvP Races (except for Showcase Events where PvP is out) once you drive to the race.