How to Tune?

Hi,

• I am new to the Forza Motorsport Series and i have no idea how to tune. I am a big car person, but frankly i do not know many parts in the cars and how to manipulate them to work to my racing style. When i go into the Tune section of Forza Motorsport 7, most of it looks like a foreign language to me. If i could get pointed in the right direction to a forum post related to my issue or any tips from you guys, that would be great.

Thanks,

Koenig

1 Like

See if this Tuning Guide from FM6 helps, and ask for tips in the Tuner’s Garage forum.

You’re also going to want to get a feel for what each of those things in the Tuning Guide tell you. After you’ve read it and got a good understanding, dedicate some time to taking your favorite car to a track and find out what each set-up change directly feels like.
Spend a lap or 2 feeling the car out with no changes. Then, change ONE and only ONE setting to an extreme (i.e. bump stiffness full soft) and take it for a lap to feel what it does. Then put it to the other extreme and take it for another lap.
Do this process for all the changeable tuning settings in the car and then start to adjust for what you want. This process may be tedious with no game reward, but the knowledge you get between this and the Tuning Guide will make setting up cars and last minute changes a breeze.
I highly suggest anyone who is a tuning beginner to give this process a go, and I still do this every now and then for a tuning refreshment; especially in a car I haven’t driven yet.
By doing this, you may also find out a particular set-up that you like better or makes you faster than what you think you like.

5 Likes

Kudos to you for actually giving it a go instead of going the easy route like everyone else. I’ll give a brief overview of each aspect:

Tire pressure: Doesn’t really do much. Higher pressure tires should get up to heat faster but on most tracks it makes no difference. Leave this section alone.