Wheel diameter question

hey all a quick question on wheel sizes, im new to c class and ive noticed a lot of the rwd cars in this weeks ghost league are running large diameter fronts and stock rears.

is it a new forza fashion? or is there a genuine reason? i race b class and a class and have played all forzas and never seen this before

It reduces the PI of the car by quite a bit on some cars, so you can add an extra engine part or upgrade the tire width slightly, it does weigh the car down a bit but you get an extra upgrade so its worth it. That’s if you’re talking about the RIM size and not the Tyre Width

I notice it when downloading tunes for lower class cars mainly.

Altering the rim size may also make those tyres more responsive, but I haven’t tested this myself as I usually leave rim sizes stock.

As both posters above have mentioned, Large rimsize decreases PI of the car cause of weoght increase, And in some cases it is preferrable.

Also low profile tires alter the responsiveness, or should I say it laters the behavior of grip.
Generally low profile tire is more sharper on it’s response, but it might have “snappy” grip, which means that when you lose the grip, it’s very sudden and countering it is hard.
While on hhigh profile tires the response is slow,but when you lose grip, it happens slowly and is easy to contorol.

Therefore low profile front tires and high prfile rear tires mean sharper steering response, and low chance for understeer. and smooth, easy to control oversteer.

3 Likes

A good explanation.

In the lower classes where handling upgrades are limited, having a more responsive front tyre could make up for the fact that you don’t have upgraded Springs, Tyres or Roll-Bars, while also leaving enough PI for some power upgrades. If upping the rim size provides that responsiveness, then it’s a handy shortcut.