A little tuning poll

Hi tuning fellas,

as I’m fascinated with in how many ways people successfully tune their cars in Forza I thought a little poll might be enlightening.

Simple question:
What is your basic tuning premise, i.e. what tuning parameters do you set always in the same way and that will never change during the tuning process? Or to put in another way, something where you would say “I always set,”.

Here is mine:

I always set tire pressure depending on tire compound (28 stock/street, 28.5 sport, 29 race).
I always set brakes to 48% distribution and 125% brake pressure.

That’s it, everything else I need to figure out in the tuning process.

Tire compound ( 29 stock/street, sport/race 28). Brake pressure 150…everything else is tuned as needed.

The only thing i have set in stone is brake pressure at 48% 145 pressure, some run full pressure which i think is strange

I’m a beginner tuner - I only ever do this:

Set downforce to maximum. This seems to be best almost regardless - I don’t really race on ovals or the Old Mulsanne circuit, so cornering grip is more important. This rule applies to anything road-legal (don’t have the Caparo T1 - that might be an exception) and almost all race cars. Even the E23 benefits from max downforce unless tyre wear is a problem or the straights are really long.

Change the gears. In general, I make 1st gear longer (lower number) and the highest gear considerably shorteer (higher number). I make the ratios considerably closer towards the top. My reasoning is that having a 250mph top speed isn’t useful if you’ll never be able to reach it…

Bump

I can’t think of anything set in stone for a final tune. Tyre pressures and brake pressure /balance tend to vary less than most other things.

When I start testing a build on a car I set pressures to 29 for stock/street and 28 for sport/race. I tune the gears/final drive approximately on sport/race transmissions as this can affect the behaviour of the car.