Pain in right thumb using manual with clutch on a controller. A warning and a question to all gamers

Hello everyone. I have been playing Forza 6 using a controller since Sep 11th. I have noticed a pain in the right thumb on the 17th. Its a dull and very noticeable pain. It feels like it is deep within the bone right below after a first bone when you bend your thumb. I used “A” button for clutch and “X” and “B” buttons to shift up and down. I have been gaming for over 20 years on Xboxes, Playstations, PCs, Nintendos, using different controllers, but have never experienced this kind of problem. Also, I have never driven a manual with clutch in a videogame before. I think that there is an extra pressure on the thumb because it is constantly changing gears and pressing 2 buttons, instead of 1 button.

Just think about it logically. There is a constant pressure on the thumb when you use manual with clutch. This pressure is cause by constant pressing of the same 2 buttons and it is very awkward and not natural to be pressing A and B buttons together when up shifting. The thumb is always bent when doing this.

I have not played any games for 48 hours, the pain is still there and did not decrease.

I think the solution is to get a steering wheel or drive an automatic or manual (without clutch). I tried different controller layouts and I am only comfortable with using A for clutch. I wish Turn 10 would let us custom map each and every button on the controller.

Has anyone experienced this before?

Im using the right anolog stick as my shifter. Tap down on stick to climb gears. tap up on stick to down shift. No clutch. This seems to be the most comfortable set up for me. A lot less fatigue on my fingers.

Hehe, with my arthritis, thumbs hurting is pretty much a given with any game after a few hours. I’ve got one of those sprung grip strength thingamabobs that I squeeze 20 times or so, every half hour of play, and oddly enough it helps.