New to Tuning - Where to start?

Hey all -

Wanted to reach out for a little guidance on tuning. I’m new to it (beyond 5 minutes of playing around with it), but not new to the Forza series of games. I’d like to up my game a bit, and get into tuning to get the most out of some of my favorite cars. But honestly, I’m a bit overwhelmed.

Where to start? Should I tinker with a lower class car first, or just start on whatever vehicle I want? I’m looking to improve my lap times overall, and get the most out of Forza 6 that I can.

Any beginners tips or guides you can point me to would be most appreciated.

Thank!

the very first sticky thread is a good place to start reading…

No offence but I don’t think so. Try youtube jsr Devon. Very good information and very informative links supplied in the comments…
Not often I fully agree with someone 100%. It’s how you drive 1st, build 2nd and tune 3rd

1 Like

Ive checked out his channel and cant find the vids/comments youre referring to. Could you be more specific please?

Tip 1 build is more important than tune.

Tip 2, if u can drive higher class cars start with something that doesn’t require a build or the only real requirement is max out the build and stay in the pi (gt cars)

Tip 3: become a very consistent driver (don’t need to be the fastest but being faster helps), if you can’t turn consistent laps you won’t know if what you have done is making the car faster or not plus u won’t be able to tell if it is your driving making the car so stuff or if it is a fault in the tune.

2 Likes

+1, thanks for the advice to the OP Baby Cow. This will help many others as well.

PRKid

Appreciate these suggestions.

Please clarify for me your meaning of ‘build’. I assume this means the parts you buy for the car itself that can raise the class you are racing in. I’m pretty solid at driving repeatable lap times and rarely don’t land ‘good’ or ‘perfect’ turns on every bend. I run manual w/o clutch (if that means much).